The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL) held the paper presentation of finalists and awarding ceremony of the 2018 Magsaysay Future Engineers/Technologists (MFET) Award.

A DOST institutional award, MFET aims to recognize outstanding research outputs on engineering and technology at the collegiate level and to encourage young Filipino students to pursue a career in science.

The finalists were selected from across different academic institutions. Preliminary evaluation was done by the Engineering Sciences and Technology Division of NAST PHL.

This year’s winners are: Ms. Berenice Dophnie C. Ruiz (special citation) from the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines, Ms. Jayne Lois A. San Juan (special citation) from De La Salle University, Ms. Renzes Anne Gaerelle M. Gualberto (3rd Prize) from UP Diliman, Mr. John Christopher A. Dañez (2nd Prize) from UP Los Baños and and Mr. Peter Nicholas S. Onglao (1st Prize) from UP Diliman.