BICUTAN, TAGUIG CITY - The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL), in partnership with the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) will conduct its first ever Virtual Paper Presentation of the winners of this year’s NAST Environmental Science Award (NESA) on July 24, 2020 via Zoom and Facebook Live.

Leading the paper presenters is 2020 NESA winner, Dr. Emilyn Q. Espiritu of Ateneo de Manila University. She will be presenting her winning research entitled, “Assessment of quantity and quality of microplastics in the sediments, waters, oysters, and selected fish species in key site along the Bombong Estuary and coastal waters of Ticalan in San Juan, Batangas”.

She will be joined by this year’s NESA Special Citations, Dr. Anthony S.F Chiu of De La Salle University who will be presenting his paper entitled, “Resource efficiency of the Philippine economy: A material flow accounting perspective (1955-2016)” and Dr. Ian A. Navarrete of Southern Leyte State University – Hinunangan who will also be presenting his paper entitled, “The role of reactive iron in long-term carbon sequestration in mangrove sediments: Implications on “blue carbon” estimates in Philippine mangroves”.

The NAST-Hugh Greenwood Environmental Science Award, now NESA, was first launched in 2001 as part of the celebration of the World Earth Day and as the Academy’s answer to the rapid pace of environmental degradation and the possible eventual depletion of natural resources by recognizing outstanding research works. The NESA aims to recognize outstanding scientific and technological research works that have significant contributions to environmental protection and conservation in the country. Spearheaded by the efforts of the late NAST PHL president National Scientist Perla D. Santos Ocampo, this award was established through the help of Dr. Hugh Greenwood, a philanthropist and founder of the Children’s Research Fund./Also joining the NESA Virtual Paper Presentation are NAST PHL President and Chair of the NESA Board of Judges, Academician Rhodora V. Azanza and Member of NESA Board of Judges, Academician Guillermo Q. Tabios III. The event will be moderated by Dr. Patricia Ann J. Sanchez, Outstanding Young Scientist 2019.

Dr. Espiritu received a plaque and Php 150,000 cash incentive from the NAST PHL. She is also entitled to Php 2 Million research grant from the Department of Science and Technology. The special citations received a plaque and Php 10,000 cash incentive from NAST PHL.

The registration link for the NESA Virtual Paper presentation can be found at the NAST PHL Facebook page. (Dhan Michael L. dela Peña/NAST PHL)