BICUTAN, TAGUIG CITY – The Department of Science and Technology, through the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL), has conducted the 2021 National Science and Technology Week (NSTW) Outstanding Research and Development Award (ORDA) Virtual Paper Presentation held 23 August 2021 via Zoom and Facebook live.

Seven (7) nominees vied for the highly coveted awards for basic and applied research categories. This year’s selected nominees and their entry paper for presentations were:

I. Julian A. Banzon Medal for Applied Research

1. ROBERT A. NEPOMUCENO, M.S., University of the Philippines (UP) Los Baños – “Biological control potential of Vesicular Arbuscular Mycorrhizal Root Inoculant (VAMRI) and associated phosphate solubilizing bacteria, Pseudochrobactrum asaccharolyticum against soilborne phytopathogens of Onion (Allium cepa L. var. Red Creole)”

2. ARSENIA B. SAPIN, M.S., UP Los Baños – “Evaluation of antioxidant and anti-diabetic bioactivities of natural phenolics from mango (Mangifera indica Linn) branches”

II. Eduardo A. Quisumbing Medal for Basic Research

3. MIGUEL ENRIQUE MA. A. AZCUNA, Ph.D., UP Diliman – “Characterization of the biosynthetic potential of the β-protetobacterium Achromobacter xylosoxidans strain ISP2-142-O-2-A using microbiological, chemical and genomics approaches''

4. MARK ANGELO O. BALENDRES, Ph.D., UP Los Baños – “Emerging, re-emerging, and new plant pathogens in the Philippines”

5. DAVID P. PEÑALOZA, JR., Ph.D., De La Salle University – “Coated NPK fertilizer based on citric acid-crosslinked chitosan/alginate encapsulant”.

6. RODNEY H. PEREZ, Ph.D., UP Los Baños – “Controlled functional expression of the circular bacteriocin enterocin NKR-5-3B and the leaderless bacteriocin lacticin Q”.

7. MARY BETH B. MANINGAS, Ph.D., University of Santo Thomas – “Functional Elucidation of LvToll 3 receptor from P. vannamei through RNA interference and its potential role in the shrimp antiviral response”.

The awards are given to individual or group who have made outstanding contributions through basic and applied research. The winners will receive plaques of recognition, medals, and a cash prize of P200,00.00 during the celebration of the National Science and Technology Week on November 22, 2021.

The Board of Judges was headed by National Scientist Lourdes J. Cruz (Chair), with members Acd. Rhodora V. Azanza, Acd. Ruben L. Villareal, Acd. Angel L. Lazaro III, Acd. Jaime C. Montoya, and Engr. Alex Sy.

DOST Undersecretary Rowena Cristina L. Guevara mentioned in her closing remarks that now more than ever, research and development is an irreplaceable cog in the government, in businesses, in society, and in our country. R&D ensures that all these sectors will have the ability to adapt to extreme changes brought about and demanded by the pandemic, that through strategic investment in R&D for health, we were able to face head on the advent of the COVID-19 pandemic because of the contributions of the science community.

Dr. Pia D. Bagamasbad, 2019 Outstanding Young Scientist, served as the moderator and master of ceremonies.

The NAST PHL adheres to its mandates in achieving the progressive Philippines anchored on science and technology. (Khasmer B. Marbella/NAST PHL)